位置:   德克萨斯州休斯顿

客户:   机密

这对附近的一个大都市圈15,000英亩的土地一个新的城市总体规划的重点是“K通过J”连续(通过就业幼儿园)和知识在当今的社会,经济方面的重要性的想法。在城市的混合使用的核心,以及对城镇岛链,教育设施集成与商业分支机构和实验室,文化设施,零售商店,餐馆和住房选择的频谱来建立一个丰富的知识为中心的生活方式。

中央核心知识城是多个教育机构的位置和中央商务区。在这个区域中的混合用途在水平方向和垂直集成。步行道提供了多种快捷方式和整个城市的连接,以方便获得教育,就业和娱乐许多不同的机会。沿着走道,还有,让您的力矩短枝的谈话,网络,只是挂了一个有吸引力的环境休息区,餐厅,商店和开放空间。

该网站的主要部分位于这往往洪水一条主要河流的冲积平原。的“孤岛”城镇系统的设计,以避免建造堤坝,不利于生态和下游定居点。岛屿之间的区域的大学教育和研究计划的指导下预留防洪管理,有机农业,节约教学和环境栖息地恢复。在知识城核心广泛的绿道系统连接到周围岛屿的开放式绿地,并作为人行道和自行车道和休闲活动的结缔组织。

在就业和学习的知识城的地方永远不会相距甚远。机会付诸实践什么教训和学习的东西是练是该计划创造了一个独特的机会。研究,孵化初创企业和小生产设施毗邻大学的教室,实验室和住房。这允许扩展传统断开教育系统于一体的综合协同和终身学习的经验。

Location: Houston, Texas

Client: Confidential

This master plan for a new city on a 15,000 acre site near a major metropolitan area is focused on the idea of the “K through J” continuum (kindergarten through jobs) and the importance of knowledge in today’s socio-economic context. In the city’s mixed-use core, as well as on a chain of town islands, educational facilities are integrated with commercial offices and laboratories, cultural facilities, retail stores, restaurants, and a spectrum of housing choices to build a rich knowledge-centered lifestyle.

The central core of the Knowledge City is the location of multiple educational institutions and the central business area. The mixed uses in this area are integrated both horizontally and vertically. Walking paths offer a variety of short-cuts and connections throughout the town to allow easy access to many varied opportunities for education, employment and recreation. Along the walkways, there are seating areas, restaurants, shops and open spaces that make an appealing environment for spur-of the-moment conversations, networking, and just hanging out.

A major portion of the site is located in the flood plain of a major river which often floods. A system of “island” towns has been designed to avoid building levees that are detrimental to the ecology and to downstream settlements. The areas between the islands are set aside for flood management, organic farming, teaching conservation, and environmental habitat restoration under the direction of university education and research programs. An extensive greenway system in the Knowledge City core connects to the open green spaces surrounding the islands and serves as connective tissue for walkways and bikeways and recreational activities.

In the Knowledge City places of employment and learning are never far apart. The opportunities to put into practice what is learned and to learn from what is practiced is a unique opportunity created by this plan. Research, incubator start-ups and small production facilities are located adjacent to university classrooms and labs and to housing. This allows for the extension of the traditional disconnected educational system into an integrated and synergistic life-long learning experience.